Page 1 of 1

Florida Minimum Wage to Increase January 1, 2013

October 16 - Posted at 6:36 PM Tagged: ,

Florida’s minimum wage is currently $7.67 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2013, Florida’s minimum wage will increase to $7.79 per hour, which is a 1.5% (or $0.12) increase from the current minimum wage.


Employers of “tipped employees” who meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) may count tips actually received as wages under the FLSA. The employer, however, must pay “tipped employees” a direct wage. Effective January 1, 2013, the new minimum wage for tipped employees should become $4.77 per hour plus tips.


Florida law requires a new minimum wage calculation each year on September 30, based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).  If that calculation is higher than the federal rate (which is currently $7.25 per hour), the state’s rate would take effect the following January.


The state is scheduled to release a press release soon confirming these rates for January 1, 2013. We will provide an updated Minimum Wage Notice for Employees is released by the state.

© 2024 Administrators Advisory Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved