Page 1 of 1

Florida’s Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2018

December 20 - Posted at 9:00 AM Tagged: , ,

Florida is raising its minimum wage to $8.25 an hour beginning Jan. 1, up 15 cents from $8.10 in 2017. For tipped employees, the minimum wage will be at least $5.23 an hour.

The minimum wage rate is recalculated each year on Sept. 30, based on the Consumer Price Index. 

Employer found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements are subject to a fine of $1000 per violation, payable to the state in addition to potential civil action law suit. 

Be sure to update your required Florida Minimum Wage Posting to reflect this change. You can download a copy of the new poster here.

Mandatory Florida Posting Change

September 14 - Posted at 8:35 PM Tagged: , , ,

The State of Florida has updated its Discrimination poster to include pregnancy as a protected class. The state’s Civil Rights Act was amended earlier this year to prohibit discrimination on the basis of pregnancy. This amended law took effect July 1st and you are required to post this revised notice. Be sure to check your postings to make sure you have the updated notice posted. Please contact out office if you need a copy of the updated notice.

© 2024 Administrators Advisory Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved